Helinox Chair Zero review
Helinox Chair Zero review
The base Chair Zero packs to 14 × 4 × 4 inches and has a manufacturer-rated 265-pound limit. Its official product page currently gives three different weight figures and does not identify one definitive comparison number.
Verdict: a compact chair with three conflicting weight figures
The Helinox Chair Zero in Black, SKU 10551R1, is a low-back framed chair with a 14 × 4 × 4-inch packed size. Helinox lists 1 lb 1 oz “when packed up,” 1 lb 2 oz assembled, and 1 lb 2.5 oz packed. The published packed size and manufacturer-rated limit are clear for this exact base configuration; the page does not provide one definitive weight for comparison.
Chair Zero specifications
Helinox Chair Zero specifications
Compare the specs below. Manufacturer details are available under “Sources and model notes.” Focus the table and use the arrow keys when horizontal scrolling is needed.
Compare the specs below. Manufacturer details are available under “Sources and model notes.”
| Product | Weight | Weight type | Open size | Packed size | Seat height | Weight limit | Materials | Setup |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Helinox Chair ZeroPublished specs differChair Zero, Black, SKU 10551R1Sources and model notesOpen questions: Controlling packed-weight value; Separate seat height; Exact model year beyond current SKU
| Specification table: 1 lb 2 oz assembled; 1 lb 2.5 oz packed. Marketing bullet: 1 lb 1 oz “when packed up.” | The page lists different weights without saying which one to use for comparison. | 25 × 20 × 18 in (height × width × depth) | 14 × 4 × 4 in | Not stated as a separate seat-height measurement | 265 lb / 120 kg assembled weight limit | DAC aluminum-alloy frame; 100D aramid polyester-ripstop seat; 50D nylon-ripstop carry case | Shock-corded poles lock the frame into place |
Helinox Chair Zero
Published specs differChair Zero, Black, SKU 10551R1
- Weight
- Specification table: 1 lb 2 oz assembled; 1 lb 2.5 oz packed. Marketing bullet: 1 lb 1 oz “when packed up.”
- Weight type
- The page lists different weights without saying which one to use for comparison.
- Open size
- 25 × 20 × 18 in (height × width × depth)
- Packed size
- 14 × 4 × 4 in
- Seat height
- Not stated as a separate seat-height measurement
- Weight limit
- 265 lb / 120 kg assembled weight limit
- Materials
- DAC aluminum-alloy frame; 100D aramid polyester-ripstop seat; 50D nylon-ripstop carry case
- Setup
- Shock-corded poles lock the frame into place
Sources and model notes
Open questions: Controlling packed-weight value; Separate seat height; Exact model year beyond current SKU
- Weight
- Helinox Chair Zero specifications; Product description “Sleek yet strong” bullet and specification table, Weight row
- Weight type
- Helinox Chair Zero specifications; Product description and specification table, Weight row
- Open size
- Helinox Chair Zero specifications; Specification table, Assembled column: Height, Width, and Depth rows
- Packed size
- Helinox Chair Zero specifications; Product description “Portable” bullet and specification table, Packed column
- Seat height
- Helinox Chair Zero specifications; Specification table reviewed; no separate Seat Height row
- Weight limit
- Helinox Chair Zero specifications; Product description “Sleek yet strong” bullet and specification table, Capacity row
- Materials
- Helinox Chair Zero specifications; FRAME, SEAT, and CARRY CASE sections
- Setup
- Helinox Chair Zero specifications; Product description “Easy set-up” bullet
What the published specifications tell us
Helinox identifies the exact base model, packed and assembled dimensions, materials, and manufacturer-rated limit. It does not publish a separate seat height or explain why its three weight figures differ. Keep those weight labels separate when comparing Chair Zero with another product.
For a two-product decision, use the Chair Zero versus NEMO Moonlite Elite comparison. It preserves each original weight label rather than declaring an ounce-for-ounce winner.
Consider the base Chair Zero when
- A 14 × 4 × 4-inch packed size is the published package size you want to compare.
- You want the base model with a manufacturer-rated 265 lb / 120 kg limit.
- You are comparing low-back framed-chair configurations and can keep all three Helinox weight labels visible.
Skip it when
- Your comparison requires one definitive base-weight figure; Helinox currently provides three different labels.
- You need a separately stated seat height; the current specification table does not publish one.
- The listing does not clearly identify the base Chair Zero rather than another Zero-family name.
The three official weights
The assembled figure has its own label. The unresolved conflict is between the two descriptions of the packed chair: 1 lb 1 oz “when packed up” and 1 lb 2.5 oz packed. Helinox does not explain the difference or identify one number for comparison.
Keep all three figures visible and use only the label that matches the weight you are tracking. Helinox does not identify one definitive number.
Packed size, open size, and materials
The packed dimensions are 14 × 4 × 4 inches. Assembled dimensions are 25 × 20 × 18 inches, presented as height × width × depth. The assembled height is not a substitute for the missing separate seat-height measurement.
- Frame: DAC aluminum-alloy poles with internal shock cord, resin hubs, and rubber feet.
- Seat: 100D aramid polyester ripstop.
- Carry case: 50D nylon ripstop.
- Setup: Helinox says the shock-corded poles lock the frame into place.
What the setup statement supports
Helinox states that the shock-corded poles lock the frame into place. That describes the frame at a high level, but it is not a complete assembly or pack-away sequence. The product page does not state setup time, fabric-installation technique, or a storage procedure.
For cross-product setup classes, use the broad chair guide. It places the Chair Zero statement beside the Big Agnes shock-corded, color-coded frame description and NEMO’s missing written setup sequence without turning any of them into a universal speed ranking.
Current Zero Family map
Helinox currently lists Chair Zero, Chair Zero L, Chair Zero High-Back, and Chair Zero LT in the Zero Family. These names identify adjacent family products, not interchangeable configurations. The detailed specifications on this page belong only to the base Chair Zero in Black, SKU 10551R1.
Do not borrow the base model’s dimensions, weight figures, material list, seat-height unknown, setup statement, or manufacturer-rated limit for the L, High-Back, or LT. Helinox Zero Family
What the current specifications leave unclear
The product page does not state a separate seat height or explain which packed-weight figure to use. Its specifications apply only to the base Chair Zero, not to every chair in the Zero Family. They also do not tell us how the chair will feel or perform on a particular surface.
How Chair Zero compares with the other chairs
Chair Zero brings a 14 × 4 × 4-inch packed size and 265-pound manufacturer-rated limit to the shortlist. Use the ultralight guide when the 1 lb 4 oz cutoff matters, but keep all three Helinox weight figures visible.
Use the NEMO comparison when choosing between those two chairs. Their packed dimensions compare directly, but Helinox does not explain its conflicting packed weights and NEMO does not publish capacity. The broad guide also includes Big Agnes, with a separately published seat height, longer packed shape, and more complete specifications.
What would change this review
A clarified Helinox weight statement could replace the current three-value conflict with one definitive comparison figure. A separately labeled seat height would add another useful measurement. Specifications for Chair Zero L, High-Back, or LT would apply to those models only, not to the base Chair Zero.
Current retail listing
Amazon supplies the details in the card below. Some of its figures differ from Helinox’s current page, so the manufacturer specifications above remain the comparison source here.
Current Chair Zero on Amazon
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Helinox Chair Zero
A low-back framed chair listed at 1 lb 1 oz “when packed up,” 1 lb 2 oz assembled, and 1 lb 2.5 oz packed.

- Ultralight, compact camping and backpacking chair weighs just 1.1 pounds and packs smaller than a bottle of water (measures 4 x 4 x 13.5 inches packed)
- Lightweight, folding chair frame is constructed from advanced DAC aluminum alloy to provide maximum strength at a minimum weight; holds up to 265 pounds
- Seat and carry sack are constructed from durable, lightweight ripstop polyester that resists harsh weather and UV rays; material is machine washable
- Setup is fast with a single internal bungee cord that assembles poles; assembled chair measures 20W x 18D x 25H inches, seat height is 6.5 inches, and backrest height 18.5 inches.
- Ideal for outdoor activities like camping, backpacking, hiking, biking and motorcycle touring where weight is critical; manufacturer's five-year warranty
Next decision
Use the broad backpacking-chair guide to compare Chair Zero with two other framed chairs, or the ultralight guide for chairs meeting the 1 lb 4 oz cutoff. The manufacturer weight-limit reference explains how to use the 265-pound figure.
