Exact chair comparison
Helinox Chair Zero vs. NEMO Moonlite Elite
NEMO lists a shorter packed length and a clearly defined minimum weight, while Helinox publishes a weight limit. The brands define weight differently, and NEMO does not list capacity, so neither chair is the winner in every category.
Short answer: choose based on what matters most to you
The exact NEMO Moonlite Elite has a 12.5-inch listed packed length and a 1 lb 3 oz minimum-weight label. The exact Helinox Chair Zero has a 14-inch listed packed length and a 265 lb / 120 kg manufacturer-rated limit. NEMO does not list capacity. Helinox lists 1 lb 1 oz “when packed up,” 1 lb 2 oz assembled, and 1 lb 2.5 oz packed, while NEMO’s number is minimum weight stripped to essential components. Those labels do not support an ounce-for-ounce winner.
Models covered in this comparison
This comparison is limited to the current Black Helinox Chair Zero, SKU 10551R1, and the current Black NEMO Moonlite Elite, SKU 811666037848. Chair Zero L, Chair Zero High-Back, and other Moonlite variants are separate products; their values are not used here. Helinox Chair Zero product data NEMO Moonlite Elite product data
Published specifications side by side
Chair Zero and Moonlite Elite published specifications
Compare the specs below. Manufacturer details are available under “Sources and model notes.” Focus the table and use the arrow keys when horizontal scrolling is needed.
Compare the specs below. Manufacturer details are available under “Sources and model notes.”
| Product | Weight | Weight type | Packed size | Seat height | Weight limit | Materials | Setup |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Helinox Chair ZeroPublished specs differChair Zero, Black, SKU 10551R1Sources and model notesOpen questions: Controlling packed-weight value; Separate seat height; Exact model year beyond current SKU
| Specification table: 1 lb 2 oz assembled; 1 lb 2.5 oz packed. Marketing bullet: 1 lb 1 oz “when packed up.” | The page lists different weights without saying which one to use for comparison. | 14 × 4 × 4 in | Not stated as a separate seat-height measurement | 265 lb / 120 kg assembled weight limit | DAC aluminum-alloy frame; 100D aramid polyester-ripstop seat; 50D nylon-ripstop carry case | Shock-corded poles lock the frame into place |
NEMO Moonlite EliteSome specs not listedMoonlite Elite, Black, UPC 811666037848Sources and model notes
| 1 lb 3 oz / 552 g minimum weight | Minimum weight means stripped to essential components | 12.5 × 4.5 × 3.5 in / 32 × 12 × 9 cm | Not listed in the current specs | Not listed on the current product page | Aluminum frame; custom polyester/TPU mesh; HTP/Dyneema cordage in the reclining system | No written setup steps were found; the product page links to a setup image |
Helinox Chair Zero
Published specs differChair Zero, Black, SKU 10551R1
- Weight
- Specification table: 1 lb 2 oz assembled; 1 lb 2.5 oz packed. Marketing bullet: 1 lb 1 oz “when packed up.”
- Weight type
- The page lists different weights without saying which one to use for comparison.
- Packed size
- 14 × 4 × 4 in
- Seat height
- Not stated as a separate seat-height measurement
- Weight limit
- 265 lb / 120 kg assembled weight limit
- Materials
- DAC aluminum-alloy frame; 100D aramid polyester-ripstop seat; 50D nylon-ripstop carry case
- Setup
- Shock-corded poles lock the frame into place
Sources and model notes
Open questions: Controlling packed-weight value; Separate seat height; Exact model year beyond current SKU
- Weight
- Helinox Chair Zero specifications; Product description “Sleek yet strong” bullet and specification table, Weight row
- Weight type
- Helinox Chair Zero specifications; Product description and specification table, Weight row
- Packed size
- Helinox Chair Zero specifications; Product description “Portable” bullet and specification table, Packed column
- Seat height
- Helinox Chair Zero specifications; Specification table reviewed; no separate Seat Height row
- Weight limit
- Helinox Chair Zero specifications; Product description “Sleek yet strong” bullet and specification table, Capacity row
- Materials
- Helinox Chair Zero specifications; FRAME, SEAT, and CARRY CASE sections
- Setup
- Helinox Chair Zero specifications; Product description “Easy set-up” bullet
NEMO Moonlite Elite
Some specs not listedMoonlite Elite, Black, UPC 811666037848
- Weight
- 1 lb 3 oz / 552 g minimum weight
- Weight type
- Minimum weight means stripped to essential components
- Packed size
- 12.5 × 4.5 × 3.5 in / 32 × 12 × 9 cm
- Seat height
- Not listed in the current specs
- Weight limit
- Not listed on the current product page
- Materials
- Aluminum frame; custom polyester/TPU mesh; HTP/Dyneema cordage in the reclining system
- Setup
- No written setup steps were found; the product page links to a setup image
Sources and model notes
- Weight
- NEMO Moonlite Elite specifications; Specs & Materials, Minimum Weight row
- Weight type
- NEMO Moonlite Elite specifications; Specs & Materials, Minimum Weight tooltip
- Packed size
- NEMO Moonlite Elite specifications; Specs & Materials, Packed Size row
- Seat height
- NEMO Moonlite Elite specifications; Specs & Materials reviewed; no Seat Height field
- Weight limit
- NEMO Moonlite Elite specifications; Specs & Materials reviewed; no Capacity field
- Materials
- NEMO Moonlite Elite specifications; Features & Innovation: Stable Frame, Seamless Mesh Seat, and reclining-system descriptions
- Setup
- NEMO Moonlite Elite specifications; Setup Instructions link reviewed; no textual instruction sequence
Packed dimensions compare more directly than weight
NEMO lists a 12.5 × 4.5 × 3.5-inch packed size, while Helinox lists 14 × 4 × 4 inches. Both are labeled packed dimensions, so the size strings can be compared as published. The 1.5-inch difference in listed length does not turn the two different weight bases into a shared weight measure. NEMO Moonlite Elite specifications Helinox Chair Zero specifications
Frame, setup, and recline
Both manufacturers name aluminum frames. Helinox describes DAC aluminum-alloy poles with shock-corded poles that lock into place. NEMO lists an aluminum frame and HTP/Dyneema cordage in a reclining system but provides no written setup sequence. These details describe construction and setup, not how either chair will feel or perform on a particular surface. Helinox Chair Zero specifications NEMO Moonlite Elite specifications
Capacity remains one-sided
Helinox lists a 265 lb / 120 kg assembled weight limit for Chair Zero. NEMO does not list a capacity on the current Moonlite Elite page. A missing NEMO value is not a lower value, and Helinox’s manufacturer-rated limit is not a safety, stability, or individualized-suitability conclusion. Helinox Chair Zero specifications NEMO Moonlite Elite specifications
When weight matters most
First choose the weight basis your packing record requires. NEMO’s minimum-weight figure describes the chair stripped to essential components. Helinox publishes assembled and packed figures, plus a second “when packed up” number that conflicts with its packed specification. Selecting the lowest visible number from each page would compare different things and would also hide Helinox’s unresolved conflict.
Minimum, assembled, and packed weight are different measurements. Until the manufacturers publish comparable figures, there is no fair weight winner.
Compare the specifications that matter to you
Manufacturer source links appear with each comparison. Focus the table and use the arrow keys when horizontal scrolling is needed.
Manufacturer source links appear with each comparison.
| What matters | What the manufacturers publish |
|---|---|
| Shortest listed packed length | NEMO lists 12.5 inches; Helinox lists 14 inches. Use packed dimensions, not a converted weight figure.NEMO Moonlite Elite specificationsHelinox Chair Zero specifications |
| Weight-basis clarity | NEMO defines its 1 lb 3 oz figure as minimum weight. Helinox’s current page gives three figures and does not identify one controlling comparison number.NEMO Moonlite Elite specificationsHelinox Chair Zero specifications |
| Published capacity | Helinox lists 265 lb / 120 kg. NEMO does not publish a capacity for Moonlite Elite.Helinox Chair Zero specificationsNEMO Moonlite Elite specifications |
| Published recline information | NEMO describes HTP/Dyneema cordage in a reclining system. Helinox describes shock-corded frame setup instead.NEMO Moonlite Elite specificationsHelinox Chair Zero specifications |
| Separate seat height | Neither manufacturer publishes a separate seat-height measurement for these models.Helinox Chair Zero specificationsNEMO Moonlite Elite specifications |
Shortest listed packed length
NEMO lists 12.5 inches; Helinox lists 14 inches. Use packed dimensions, not a converted weight figure.
NEMO Moonlite Elite specifications
Helinox Chair Zero specifications
Weight-basis clarity
NEMO defines its 1 lb 3 oz figure as minimum weight. Helinox’s current page gives three figures and does not identify one controlling comparison number.
NEMO Moonlite Elite specifications
Helinox Chair Zero specifications
Published capacity
Helinox lists 265 lb / 120 kg. NEMO does not publish a capacity for Moonlite Elite.
Helinox Chair Zero specifications
NEMO Moonlite Elite specifications
Published recline information
NEMO describes HTP/Dyneema cordage in a reclining system. Helinox describes shock-corded frame setup instead.
NEMO Moonlite Elite specifications
Helinox Chair Zero specifications
Separate seat height
Neither manufacturer publishes a separate seat-height measurement for these models.
Helinox Chair Zero specifications
NEMO Moonlite Elite specifications
Shop the two models
The cards below show the Black Chair Zero and Black Moonlite Elite. Amazon supplies the images, product details, and shopping links.
Current Chair Zero and Moonlite Elite on Amazon
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.


