Compare manufacturer weight limits
Backpacking chair weight limits
A published weight limit is useful only when it belongs to the exact brand, model, size, and version you are considering. It is a manufacturer specification, not a safety guarantee.
How to check a chair or stool weight limit
- Match the exact modelCheck brand, model, configuration, size, and generation before using a number.
- Keep the manufacturer labelRecord whether the source calls it capacity, maximum load, or weight limit.
- Keep other measurements separateSetup and seat height do not change the published weight limit.
- Leave blanks blankDo not borrow a limit from a related model, another seat type, or a retailer listing.
What the labels mean
Capacity, maximum load, and weight limit are the labels used by the manufacturers below. Each number applies to one exact configuration. It does not describe stability, durability, terrain performance, or suitability for a particular person.
Match the number before comparing it
For example, Helinox lists a 265 lb / 120 kg assembled weight limit for the base Chair Zero in Black, SKU 10551R1. Before using it, confirm that you are looking at the base Chair Zero, not Chair Zero L, High-Back, LT, or another configuration. The missing seat height and conflicting weight figures do not change the published limit.
The same check applies to every seat type. A 250-pound maximum load for one Big Agnes stool does not supply a missing limit for a foam sit pad, ground seat, or another stool.
Framed chairs
Published limits for framed-chair records
Compare the specs below. Manufacturer details are available under “Sources and model notes.” Focus the table and use the arrow keys when horizontal scrolling is needed.
Compare the specs below. Manufacturer details are available under “Sources and model notes.”
| Product | Weight limit | Seat height | Setup |
|---|---|---|---|
Helinox Chair ZeroPublished specs differChair Zero, Black, SKU 10551R1Sources and model notesOpen questions: Controlling packed-weight value; Separate seat height; Exact model year beyond current SKU
| 265 lb / 120 kg assembled weight limit | Not stated as a separate seat-height measurement | Shock-corded poles lock the frame into place |
NEMO Moonlite EliteSome specs not listedMoonlite Elite, Black, UPC 811666037848Sources and model notes
| Not listed on the current product page | Not listed in the current specs | No written setup steps were found; the product page links to a setup image |
Big Agnes Skyline UL ChairSkyline UL Chair, Jet Black, SKU FSULCJB26Sources and model notes
| 275 lb / 125 kg maximum load | 15 in / 38 cm | Fully shock-corded architecture and color-coded frame |
Helinox Chair Zero
Published specs differChair Zero, Black, SKU 10551R1
- Weight limit
- 265 lb / 120 kg assembled weight limit
- Seat height
- Not stated as a separate seat-height measurement
- Setup
- Shock-corded poles lock the frame into place
Sources and model notes
Open questions: Controlling packed-weight value; Separate seat height; Exact model year beyond current SKU
- Weight limit
- Helinox Chair Zero specifications; Product description “Sleek yet strong” bullet and specification table, Capacity row
- Seat height
- Helinox Chair Zero specifications; Specification table reviewed; no separate Seat Height row
- Setup
- Helinox Chair Zero specifications; Product description “Easy set-up” bullet
NEMO Moonlite Elite
Some specs not listedMoonlite Elite, Black, UPC 811666037848
- Weight limit
- Not listed on the current product page
- Seat height
- Not listed in the current specs
- Setup
- No written setup steps were found; the product page links to a setup image
Sources and model notes
- Weight limit
- NEMO Moonlite Elite specifications; Specs & Materials reviewed; no Capacity field
- Seat height
- NEMO Moonlite Elite specifications; Specs & Materials reviewed; no Seat Height field
- Setup
- NEMO Moonlite Elite specifications; Setup Instructions link reviewed; no textual instruction sequence
Big Agnes Skyline UL Chair
Skyline UL Chair, Jet Black, SKU FSULCJB26
- Weight limit
- 275 lb / 125 kg maximum load
- Seat height
- 15 in / 38 cm
- Setup
- Fully shock-corded architecture and color-coded frame
Sources and model notes
- Weight limit
- Big Agnes Skyline UL Chair specifications; Product metafield: Maximum_Load
- Seat height
- Big Agnes Skyline UL Chair specifications; Product metafield: Seat_Height
- Setup
- Big Agnes Skyline UL Chair specifications; Features: “Fully shock-corded architecture” and “Color-coded frame”
The Helinox Chair Zero guide explains which Zero-family model the specifications cover. The NEMO Moonlite Elite review and Big Agnes Skyline UL Chair review cover their exact configurations. NEMO does not publish capacity for Moonlite Elite.
Folding stools
Published limits for folding-stool records
Compare the specs below. Manufacturer details are available under “Sources and model notes.” Focus the table and use the arrow keys when horizontal scrolling is needed.
Compare the specs below. Manufacturer details are available under “Sources and model notes.”
| Product | Weight limit | Seat height | Setup |
|---|---|---|---|
Stansport Folding Camp StoolKey specs not listedG-613-S manufacturer record; retailer mapping unresolvedSources and model notesOpen questions: Product weight; Packed dimensions; Separate seat-height measurement; Mapping to inherited historical retailer identity
| 200 lb weight limit | A 15-inch dimension is shown, but no separate seat-height field is stated | No written setup steps were found |
Hillsound BTR Stool 14Some specs not listed14-inch BTR Stool, Black, SKU BTRBLK14Sources and model notes
| 240 lb / 110 kg weight limit | 14.4 in appears within combined “in use” dimensions; no separate field | Extend all three legs until the stated click, open the legs, and place on solid ground |
Helinox Speed StoolPublished specs differSpeed Stool, Black, SKU 14501Sources and model notesOpen questions: Controlling seat-height figure
| 220 lb / 100 kg assembled weight limit | Product copy says the seat sits 11 in from the ground; specification table lists 10.5 in assembled height | Shock-corded poles lock the frame into place |
Big Agnes Skyline UL StoolSkyline UL Stool, Royal Purple, SKU FSULSRP25Sources and model notes
| 250 lb / 113 kg maximum load | 15 in / 38 cm | Fully shock-corded architecture and color-coded frame |
Stansport Folding Camp Stool
Key specs not listedG-613-S manufacturer record; retailer mapping unresolved
- Weight limit
- 200 lb weight limit
- Seat height
- A 15-inch dimension is shown, but no separate seat-height field is stated
- Setup
- No written setup steps were found
Sources and model notes
Open questions: Product weight; Packed dimensions; Separate seat-height measurement; Mapping to inherited historical retailer identity
- Weight limit
- Stansport G-613-S specifications; Product feature list, Capacity
- Seat height
- Stansport G-613-S specifications; Product feature list, dimensions statement
- Setup
- Stansport G-613-S specifications; Product description and feature list reviewed; no setup-instruction field
Hillsound BTR Stool 14
Some specs not listed14-inch BTR Stool, Black, SKU BTRBLK14
- Weight limit
- 240 lb / 110 kg weight limit
- Seat height
- 14.4 in appears within combined “in use” dimensions; no separate field
- Setup
- Extend all three legs until the stated click, open the legs, and place on solid ground
Sources and model notes
- Weight limit
- Hillsound BTR 14 specifications; Specifications, All sizes, Load Capacity
- Seat height
- Hillsound BTR 14 specifications; Specifications, 14-inch version, In use row
- Setup
- Hillsound BTR 14 specifications; How to set up your BTR Stool
Helinox Speed Stool
Published specs differSpeed Stool, Black, SKU 14501
- Weight limit
- 220 lb / 100 kg assembled weight limit
- Seat height
- Product copy says the seat sits 11 in from the ground; specification table lists 10.5 in assembled height
- Setup
- Shock-corded poles lock the frame into place
Sources and model notes
Open questions: Controlling seat-height figure
- Weight limit
- Helinox Speed Stool specifications; “Lightweight yet strong” bullet and specification table, Capacity row
- Seat height
- Helinox Speed Stool specifications; “Ultra-compact portability” bullet and specification table, Height row
- Setup
- Helinox Speed Stool specifications; “Easy set-up” bullet
Big Agnes Skyline UL Stool
Skyline UL Stool, Royal Purple, SKU FSULSRP25
- Weight limit
- 250 lb / 113 kg maximum load
- Seat height
- 15 in / 38 cm
- Setup
- Fully shock-corded architecture and color-coded frame
Sources and model notes
- Weight limit
- Big Agnes Skyline UL Stool specifications; Product metafield: Maximum_Load
- Seat height
- Big Agnes Skyline UL Stool specifications; Product metafield: Seat_Height
- Setup
- Big Agnes Skyline UL Stool specifications; Features: “Fully shock-corded architecture” and “Color-coded frame”
The Stansport Folding Camp Stool appears only because the manufacturer publishes a 200-pound limit. Product weight, packed dimensions, separate seat height, setup steps, and the retailer match remain unclear, so it is excluded from stool recommendations and shopping links.
Hillsound’s instruction to extend all three legs until they click, open them, and place the stool on solid ground is an exact manufacturer instruction for the BTR Stool. It does not expand the stated 240-pound limit or provide a general surface-performance conclusion.
Ground seat
Published limit for the documented ground-seat record
Compare the specs below. Manufacturer details are available under “Sources and model notes.” Focus the table and use the arrow keys when horizontal scrolling is needed.
Compare the specs below. Manufacturer details are available under “Sources and model notes.”
| Product | Weight limit | Seat height | Setup |
|---|---|---|---|
Crazy Creek The ChairSome specs not listedThe Chair, Sage/Black, SKU 5002-165Sources and model notes
| 250 lb / 113.4 kg weight limit | The page labels 16.5 in as “Seat Height,” but the ground-seat design makes its height above the ground unclear | Side straps adjust the back angle |
Crazy Creek The Chair
Some specs not listedThe Chair, Sage/Black, SKU 5002-165
- Weight limit
- 250 lb / 113.4 kg weight limit
- Seat height
- The page labels 16.5 in as “Seat Height,” but the ground-seat design makes its height above the ground unclear
- Setup
- Side straps adjust the back angle
Sources and model notes
- Weight limit
- Crazy Creek The Chair specifications; Tech Specs, Capacity
- Seat height
- Crazy Creek The Chair specifications; Tech Specs, Seat Height; product form shown/described as ground seat
- Setup
- Crazy Creek The Chair specifications; Features: “Adjustable Back”
The Crazy Creek The Chair review retains the ground-seat identity and the ambiguity in its manufacturer “Seat Height” field. That label should not be treated as the rise above ground supplied by a framed chair or stool.
Sit pads with no published limit
Sit-pad records with capacity left unstated
Compare the specs below. Manufacturer details are available under “Sources and model notes.” Focus the table and use the arrow keys when horizontal scrolling is needed.
Compare the specs below. Manufacturer details are available under “Sources and model notes.”
| Product | Weight limit | Seat height | Setup |
|---|---|---|---|
Therm-a-Rest Z SeatSome specs not listedZ Seat, Blue/Silver, SKU 10786Sources and model notes
| No weight limit listed | Listed thickness: 0.75 in / 2 cm | Accordion-style pad with bungee closure |
NEMO ChipperSome specs not listedChipper, Wabi Sabi, UPC 811666032881Sources and model notes
| No weight limit listed | No separate seat-height field; displayed thickness is 1 in | No written setup instructions were found |
Therm-a-Rest Z Seat
Some specs not listedZ Seat, Blue/Silver, SKU 10786
- Weight limit
- No weight limit listed
- Seat height
- Listed thickness: 0.75 in / 2 cm
- Setup
- Accordion-style pad with bungee closure
Sources and model notes
- Weight limit
- Therm-a-Rest Z Seat specifications; Tech Specs reviewed; no capacity field
- Seat height
- Therm-a-Rest Z Seat specifications; Tech Specs, Seat Height
- Setup
- Therm-a-Rest Z Seat specifications; Product summary: “accordion-style design”; Compact feature: bungee closure
NEMO Chipper
Some specs not listedChipper, Wabi Sabi, UPC 811666032881
- Weight limit
- No weight limit listed
- Seat height
- No separate seat-height field; displayed thickness is 1 in
- Setup
- No written setup instructions were found
Sources and model notes
- Weight limit
- NEMO Chipper specifications; Product Specs & Comparison reviewed; no Capacity field
- Seat height
- NEMO Chipper specifications; Product Specs & Comparison, Dimensions; no Seat Height field
- Setup
- NEMO Chipper specifications; Product description and Specs reviewed; no setup-instruction field
Therm-a-Rest Z Seat and NEMO Chipper have no manufacturer-rated capacity in the current records. Their foam thickness and material descriptions do not create one. For the exact Z Seat configuration, see the Therm-a-Rest Z Seat review.
Check the current source and conflicting figures
- Open the exact current manufacturer source linked beside the field.
- Confirm the brand, product name, configuration, size or variant, and any stated SKU before carrying the number into a comparison.
- Check whether the source uses a different current label or leaves a related field unstated.
- If two credible same-scope figures conflict, preserve the conflict rather than selecting the more convenient number.
Helinox shows why one specification can remain useful while another is unclear. Its weight figures conflict, but the company still publishes a separate 265-pound limit for the base Chair Zero.
If a manufacturer page changes, confirm the exact model and configuration before using the new number. A newer page for a related model does not correct the specifications for the model being checked.
What a published limit cannot answer
A manufacturer-rated limit does not tell you how a seat behaves on mud, sand, slopes, or uneven ground. It also does not measure tip resistance, wear, repair quality, or compatibility with add-on feet and platforms. Compare weight, packed dimensions, seat height, materials, and setup separately, and leave unlisted measurements blank.
